American Sociological Association

Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology

The purpose of the Section on Communications, Information Technologies and Media Sociology is to support, enhance and promote research, teaching and other professional activities related to:

  • The social aspects of computing, the Internet, new media, computer networks, and other communication and information technologies.
  • The Sociology of Communications.
  • The design and use of technology in teaching and research.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Deana Rohlinger, Florida State University 2019
Chair-Elect: Anabel Quan-Haase, University of Western Ontario 2019
Past Chair: Wenhong Chen, University of Texas at Austin 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Mito Akiyoshi, Senshu University 2019
Section Nominations Committee Member: Jenny L. Davis, The Australian National University 2019
Section Nominations Committee Member: Jeffrey Lane, Rutgers University 2021
Section Nominations Committee Member: Andrew M. Lindner, Skidmore College 2020

Section Council

Bryce Hannibal, Texas A&M University 2019
Sarah Sobieraj, Tufts University 2019
Timothy Recuber, Smith College 2020
Apryl A. Williams, Susquehanna University 2020

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership