American Sociological Association

Disability in Society

The Section aims to strengthen the theoretical and methodological aspects of Disability and Society Studies.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Alexis A. Bender, Emory University 2019
Chair-Elect: Tom Gerschick, Illinois State University 2019
Past Chair: Heather E. Dillaway, Wayne State University 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Brian R. Grossman, University of Illinois at Chicago 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer-Elect: Robyn Lewis Brown, University of Kentucky 2019
Program Director: Justine Egner, University of South Florida 2020
Section Nominations Committee Chair: Nancy G. Kutner, Emory University 2019
Section Publicity Committee Chair: Kenzie Latham-Mintus, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) 2020
Section Award Committee Chair: Valerie R. Leiter, Simmons College 2019
Section Memb Cmte Chair: Diane S. Shinberg, Indiana University of Pennsylvania 2020
Student Representative: Brittney Miles, University of Cincinnati 2020

Section Council

Carrie L. Shandra, State University of New York at Stony Brook 2019

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership