American Sociological Association

Medical Sociology

The purpose of the Section on Medical Sociology is to foster the development of sociology in the field of health through the organized interchange of ideas, teaching experiences, research programs, and results. The Section on Medical Sociology examines the phenomena of health and illness, the social organization of health care delivery, and differential access to medical resources.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Brea Louise Perry, Indiana University 2019
Chair-Elect: Deborah Carr, Boston University 2019
Past Chair: Jane D. McLeod, Indiana University 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Danielle Bessett, University of Cincinnati 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer-Elect: Miranda R. Waggoner, Florida State University 2019
Section Publications Committee Chair: Claire Laurier Decoteau, University of Illinois, Chicago 2019
Section Nominations Committee Chair: Jen'nan G. Read, Duke University 2019
Section Nomination Cmte Chair-Elect: Jennifer Karas Montez, Syracuse University 2019
Section Nominations Committee Member: Courtney E. Boen, University of Pennsylvania 2019
Section Nominations Committee Member: Tania M. Jenkins, Temple University 2019
Section Nominations Cmte. Student Member: Lauren Olsen, University of California- San Diego 2019
Section Career & Employment Cmte Chair: Katrina E. Kimport, University of California, San Francisco 2019
Section Teaching Cmte Chair: Ophra Leyser-Whalen, University of Texas at El Paso 2019
Section Health Policy & Research Cmte: Shannon M. Monnat, Syracuse University 2020
Section Memb Cmte Chair: Robyn Lewis Brown, University of Kentucky 2020
Student Representative: Julia Bandini, Brandeis University 2019
Student Representative: Aalap Bommaraju, University of Cincinnati 2020

Section Council

Hui Liu, Michigan State University 2019
Patricia P. Rieker, Boston University 2020

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership