American Sociological Association

Sociology of Population

The purpose of the Section on Sociology of Population is to foster the development of the study of population within the context of sociology.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Elizabeth Frankenberg, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill 2019
Chair-Elect: Jennifer Van Hook, Pennsylvania State University 2019
Past Chair: Mark D. Hayward, University of Texas at Austin 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Reanne Frank, Ohio State University 2021
Student Representative: Nathan Seltzer, University of Wisconsin-Madison 2019
Student Representative: Youngmin Yi, Cornell University 2020
Section Webmaster: Philip N. Cohen, University of Maryland 2025
Section Webmaster: James Robert Hull, University of California, Irvine 2025

Section Council

Shannon Cavanagh, University of Texas at Austin 2019
Sarah R. Hayford, Ohio State University 2019
Jenifer L. Bratter, Rice University 2020
Yong Cai, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill 2020
Kara Joyner, Bowling Green State University 2021
Jenna Nobles, University of Wisconsin, Madison 2021

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership