American Sociological Association

Sociology of Sexualities

The purpose of the Section on the Sociology of Sexualities is to encourage, enhance and foster research, teaching and other professional activities in the sociology of sexuality, for the development of sociology and the benefit of society, through organized meetings, conferences, newsletters, publications, awards, and other means deemed appropriate by the Section Council. The Section seeks to promote communication, collaboration, and consultation among scholars in sociology, the sociology of sexualities, and allied disciplines.

Section Officers & Council


Chair: Carla A. Pfeffer, University of South Carolina 2019
Chair-Elect: Tey Meadow, Columbia University 2019
Past Chair: Catherine Connell, Boston University 2019
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Georgiann Davis, University of Nevada-Las Vegas 2019
Student Representative: Apoorva Ghosh, University of California-Irvine 2019
Student Representative: Emma Mishel, 2019

Section Council

Trevor Alexander Hoppe, University of North Carolina at Greensboro 2019
Angela Jones, State University of New York-Farmingdale 2019
Tristan Bridges, University of California, Santa Barbara 2020
DLane R. Compton, University of New Orleans 2020
Kate Henley Averett, University at Albany, SUNY 2021
Shantel Gabrieal Buggs, Florida State University 2021

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership